WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,261 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
NOTE: This was posted, earlier, in another thread, but it's so wonderful -- and I was so pleased with myself -- that I decided to escalate the damage by reposting it to its own thread.

Why A Hand-Stitched Strap? (reposted from: "Poll: Exotics vs. Embossed Cowhide Leathers: Does anybody really care?")

So, since I started this thread -- and since some of you know I'm a hobbyist strap-maker -- this post might seem like I'm either being "defensive" about my interest in hand-stitching, or -- just as bad -- I'm "grinding my own axe," by discussing the virtues of hand-stitching vs. machine-stitched straps.

I want to put that to bed; my interest in relating what I've learned about strap construction is selfless, innocent, pure as a February snowstorm, and completely above reproach. Unselfish, too -- you can take my word for it, and I vouch for myself, completely.

Okay, now onto the business of strap-stitching, and why hand-stitched is FAR superior to machine-stiched. First, there's the dynamics of the different forms of stitching, and why the hand-stitch is inherently superior to machine stitch. Please look at the illustration drawn by Al Stohlman, the god of leatherworking.

The illustration shows both a "lockstitch" and the double-needled, leatherworker's hand stitch, sometimes referred to as a "saddle stitch." The lockstitch is the common sewing machine answer to locking layers of fabric or leather together. The machine employs an under-deck mechanism -- either a "looper" or a "shuttle hook wheel" -- which traps the thread from the needle above, forms a loop or "chain" and binds the two layers of fabric, leather, etc. together.