WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
As stated, let's see pics of the Accutron(s) you purchased or were given while Accutrons were still being sold. Be interesting to see who has been into Accutrons from their heyday. There was a long hiatus between the purchase of my 218 in 1973 and my wife's 230 in 1974 and then getting back into Accutrons as a collection last Spring. Didn't get any during the '60s as I was a starving college student and newly employed teacher with a yearly salary of $5,200! Over the past several years, our original Accutrons only had a battery in them occasionally. Their accuracy had deteriorated, never having been serviced. Mine only required cleaning, lube and regulation. My wife's required 2 new parts. Don't think it was ever right from new. Both are now serviced and ready for use. And, since learning more about them, I can regulate each to achieve great accuracy.

Mine purchased new in 1973. On it's third band with original buckle. Price tag and case original:

My wife's purchased new in 1974. Third band, original box. Price new $150. Oh wait, the box is empty because her watch is on it's way across the Atlantic from being serviced in Bulgaria - will update when it arrives. Have another just like it except it has black diamond dial.

·
Registered
650 Posts
Great pictures guys !!!! Unfortunately I didn't appear until 1976 lol :001_tt2:
I was just wondering mainly due to the price tag on Oliver's watch, in 1973 a Rolex Daytona was $386 dollars. That same watch in today's money will fetch $50,000.
With the heritage surrounding these wonderful watches I'm amazed that this brand fell so far behind.

Anyway I'm going of track here, great watches and I look forward to seeing more posts !

Jake :thumbup:

·
Registered
2,892 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
Great pictures guys !!!! Unfortunately I didn't appear until 1976 lol :001_tt2: Jake :thumbup: