WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Where does one go to find watch values? I have a SS Omega Seamaster and a SS Corum I'm trying to value.

·
Registered
1,245 Posts
One real world source for many watches is the 'bay:wink:

·
Super Moderator
16,558 Posts
Agreed. Expanding on Thunder's answer: We go to eBay and do an Advanced search of the watch, asking to see completed sales. This tells us what others are willing to pay for that watch.

·
Super Moderator
16,558 Posts
Yeah, right! Next you'll be asking that they be clear and large enough to actually see! :sneaky2:

·
Registered
1,702 Posts
That's true, condition is everything for any model & make.

So one has to take into account various factors which determine current values on a specific watch, one of which is condition and the models relative scarcity. You need to compare apples to apples, as opposed to apples & oranges.

Watch values as a whole have been on the rise over the past 3 years, with a recent variable plateau that once again seems to be appreciating from there IMO, and will continue for many various models most notably in the Divers & Chronograph types of vintage era as well as others.

Cheers, :thumbup1:
Jim

·
Super Moderator
16,558 Posts
So...Whazzit Worth??? Shall acquisitory avarice be my only guide? Am I left alone on EBAY to make my own decisions with no guidence? uh-oh!
Indubitably.... at least it's a good place to start! Very few of us own jewelry or pawn shops - I know I don't. We're not professional evaluators or appraisers either. EBay is simply a handy place to go to find out how much the general public is willing to pay for any given watch! If your thing is intrinsic value, take it to a jeweler or the "WE BUY YOUR OLD GOLD AND COINS" guy. Of course the Bay isn't your only recourse of exploration!!! But it has satisfied maybe 95% of the people so far who have asked "what's this worth?" And that's a good track record.