WATCH TALK FORUMS banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, here are some pics of a vintage Omega Constellation Pie-Pan model that I've recently inherited from my dad. I'm new to the watch collecting, and this and a few others of his have really sent me into looking at vintage watches.

- Omega Constellation
- Automatic chronometer
- probably not original band - dad like these black metal bands
- Not sure on year, but I know it's been in my dad's possession for quite some years now.
- the wind knob - one pull to set time, two pulls to set date (date automatically changes when pulled out - need to keep pulling to change date - not wind)

Does anyone know anything about these models? Anyway to value them? I know it's pretty beat up - any way to refinish them or polish the glass?

Thanks for any information!

·
Banned
28,405 Posts
Yes, there's value to them - except yours is missing the gold observatory medallion on the caseback. :confused1: It also has a replacement crown. The push-pull date setting tells me it's a caliber 564, one of the best mass produced movements of all time. The crystal is plastic and can be polished, but have a watchmaker do it as part of a service. Don't use the watch with dried up oils or you'll ruin a nice heirloom.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yes, there's value to them - except yours is missing the gold observatory medallion on the caseback. :confused1: It also has a replacement crown. The push-pull date setting tells me it's a caliber 564, one of the best mass produced movements of all time. The crystal is plastic and can be polished, but have a watchmaker do it as part of a service. Don't use the watch with dried up oils or you'll ruin a nice heirloom.
Hmmm....I thought it was funny that the medallion that I see in all the other pictures was missing....any chance you think I can replace the parts if i find them on ebay or something to restore it?