WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,755 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, my recent acquisition, while being in excellent condition appearance'wise, has the following condition - I've installed a new battery and it hums but the hands won't move on their own. I can tap the side of the case and the hands will move for a second or two and then stop. I can actually tap the case continuously and keep the second hand moving the entire revolution, although as soon as I stop the hand stops. Humming is continuous.

The movement and inside of case appear in excellent condition. No crud, corrosion, etc. The only thing I've noted (of course, I'm an Accutron rookie) is the top of the battery strap appears to be bent away a bit. I thought this might not allow perfect contact with the battery but it appears as if it's ok.

A fellow forumite (Akkatron) mentioned on a different venue that I could try something with two screws that are near the crown (lock and a cam if I recall) to excite the gear train. I'm getting ready to attempt that but thought I'd post here to hear any other suggestions.

Any help is truly appreciated. This one may have to be sent somewhere for some professional help. Hoping not though.

ArchieGoodwin
aka Eric
Watch Analog watch Clock Watch accessory Natural material

·
Registered
2,912 Posts
Akkatron is gaining great experience servicing these movements so he probably offered excellent advice. To a less experienced person, it sounds like the movement needs a cleaning, lube and setup.

·
Registered
64 Posts