WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings.

I'm an aspiring writer working on a crime novel. I had the idea of making one of the clues having to do with demagnetized/magnetized watches, causing them to gain or lose time. Problem is I know little about it, and I was hoping someone (or multiple people, I'm not picky) here could answer a few questions if it isn't too much trouble.

Basically any information would be of immense value, but the primary questions that have popped into my head are...

Which is the correct term for referring to a watch that has lost/extra time? Demagnetizing or magnetizing?

How long does a magnet need to be in contact with the watch before an effect can be seen?
Does the length of time a magnet is in contact with the watch effect the severity of the time disparity?

Why do some watches go faster and others go slower as a result of magnets?

What is a best case, worst case, and general case scenario in terms of an effect a magnet has on a watch? I was skimming about and noticed someone said something about losing eleven seconds an hour or something. I'm going to need some sort of basis for math equations...

I'm assuming some of these questions depend on strength of the magnet and quality of the watch. Is that accurate?

I might have some follow up questions, but that's all I can think of at the moment.

Thanks in advance, watch aficionados.

·
Super Moderator
15,641 Posts
Welcome! We're honored you came to us for help.
I, for one would like to read this novel when it gets published!

I'm shaky on the theory so I can only speak from personal experience.
The watch was not mechanical- it was quartz. This one as a matter of fact.