WATCH TALK FORUMS banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Premium Member
24,995 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've had this model in for review for a couple of weeks and am pretty impressed:

The watch is very clearly targeting the Rolex Datejust/Day Date crowed - $23,000.00 retail price.

It has screwed in adjustable links - first I've seen on an Omega. The caliber 8501 is pretty darn impressive and nicely decorated. But thanks to the Co-Axial escapement it's got a wonky beat speed - 25,200 VPH.

Thought you guys might like to see the pix! :cool:

·
Banned
18,140 Posts
Thanks John

I saw the same on on a leather strap a couple of months ago and was very impressed. Too occasional for me but a visual treat all the same.

I'm no expert on movements of course but surely the lower beat speed means less wear on the movement. After all, another watch with a slow beat rate beat all comers to be chosen by NASA all those years ago.

I could have stayed at the AD all afternoon just admiring the cal 8501 - thanks again for the pictures :001_smile:

Be well now

ZIN

·
Registered
246 Posts
Tried on two of the plain jane stainless models with leather straps in Vegas a couple of days ago. Hard to walk away from. Really like the size, weight, and feel....looks even better than it's photos. Price was fairly reasonable too. I'll be interested to hear how the test goes. If I didn't want another Speedy so bad it would be on my wish list.
Mike

·
Premium Member
24,995 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Houston - the lower beat speed requirement is born from Omega's trial and error experimentation with the Co-Axial escapement and the lubrication requirements of any movement to which the Daniels escapment is fitted. Personally, I'd go with a traditional escapement and a more stable high beat movement speed of 28,800 VPH.

·
Banned
2,275 Posts