WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi Everyone,

I am new to WTF and to Watch Collecting. Lately I have had an increased interest in watches. Right now watch brands that have been catching my eye are: Zenith, IWC, Hamilton, Baume Mercier, and Jaeger Lecoultre. (But...I know I've barely scratched the surface).

Unfortunately, my bank roll isn't that stacked so I'm on the hunt for a nice vintage or a great deal. I work in the IT field so I don't need anything crazy, but would like something classy, sleek, or mechanical looking...(no gold for me tho).

I'm looking forward to learning and reading about everyone's collected knowledge to help me with my new quest for the my first watch!

Any tips or stories about how you came to collect your most prized watch would be a fun read.

Thanks everyone.
:w00t:

·
Registered
5,011 Posts
Hi Kboporai1,

Welcome to our forum. Watches can be very fascinating and addictive. LOL! The best part is of course taking the time to research and find the one that speaks to you most. It will help if you share the budget for your next watch as you can score great deals at very diverse price points. Meanwhile, enjoy your time here.

Cheers!

·
Super Moderator
15,645 Posts
Hello, Kboparai1, and welcome!
We're glad you found us, and look forward to any questions you have or are going to have.

I found one of my best pieces purely by accident. I was at International Dial's site looking to have a Hamilton dial repaired. While there, I noticed they had a few for sale- items their customers never paid for, I guess. That's where I picked up my waffle-dial Longines...

Hmmm... I should take a new shot and get that minute hand away from the logo!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks bullosa and CometHunter for the welcome,

CometHunter, that's an awesome first watch. I will be doing lots of research so as time goes I'll have lots of questions.