WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all,

I am new to Lum-Tec. As a Naval Aviator and a Professional Airline Pilot I have a deep affinity for watches. I am very picky about my watches, but over the last few years I have adopted an increasingly open mind regarding watches I would never have considered before. I stumbled across the Lum-Tec while doing an internet search for a new watch that offers better night time visibility. I am getting older, afflicted with old guy disease (near vision sucks), and am looking for something I can see in low light conditions. I have a couple of Luminox watches that work great, but I was looking for more of a classic "older" look similar to vintage aviator watches.

When I went to the Lum-Tec site I was really impressed with all the models and prices. I put in an order for a M57 almost immediately. That is one fine looking watch and the orange is really something I consider to be "on the edge." I know, don't laugh, I am 50 after all! Again, I am stepping out a bit it seems as I get older. The quartz movement really appeals to me because I own a half dozen automatics and the exclusivity and mystique wore off years ago. I am no longer a snob when it comes to quartz. I think the company is doing a great job of offering both quartz and mechanical, pleasing everyone in the market no matter where they are in their pursuit of style and functionality.

I bought the M57 sight unseen and am curious about the luminescence of the watch. How long does the watch glow in low light conditions before it needs to be re-charged. Additionally, how long must the luminescence be charged and how soon before it gets dark? These days all my flying is done by midnight and I really need a watch to glow for 4 or 5 hours after sundown. Is this a reasonable expectation from one of these watches?