WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I'm really new to Accutrons but I recently came across the Spaceviews and have become a wee bit obsessive about finding the perfect one to start my collection.

I really like the idea of owning a Chapter Ring Spaceview (Swiss ideally). I've read all about the difference between a convex and concave ring being a tell-tale sign of it being a conversion and read somewhere that the Swiss made ones have luminescence on the 3,6,9,12 of the glass along with either gold or nickel plated hands with slightly tapering lugs. Should they also have a Hack spring too?

Now, if I've got that all correct - what do you make of this little chap attached and what should I be looking out for as signs that it's a Frankenstein? The seller also tells me "The back is ST/ST The movement is stamped USA date code M9" Does that mean it's not a Swiss?

Looking forward to hearing your responses,

Dan

Attachments

·
Registered
3,869 Posts
Welcome to the forum !
Wait for the real experts to come along but the hands and crystal look to me to be aftermarket ones made by Clark. I don't see any indication that it is a Swiss watch.
I have no idea what St/St means but the first digit of the serial number of a Swiss Accutron is a number and the first digit of an American Accutron serial number is a letter.
You need to find out if there is a case number on the inside of the case back. Many of them have been erased in the course of servicing but, if it is there, it is informative.
I've been told that 95% of the Spaceviews for sale are conversions but I suspect that the correct number is closer to 99% and some of them are very good.
I personally don't see much wrong with a good conversion, I own one original and two conversions, but some people are more purist more than I am.

·
Registered
347 Posts