WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, does anyone have any infos on Morvant watches? they were an offshoot of Elgin sold mainly in the US in the 80's.
That's about all I could find on them...

·
Super Moderator
16,574 Posts
I doubt you'll find much info unless you stumble upon the original owner of one. They appear to be a line of ladies quartz fashion watches put out by the company that bought the rights to the name Elgin.
The original Elgin Watch Company folded in 1968, so I'm reasonably sure there is no collector interest in them.

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
As a matter of fact, I do own one, a small man's square tank-like 14k with a quartz movement. I even sold it to myself back in 1983, when I worked in the trade. I kind of stumbled on it a few weeks ago, but I don't really remember specifics from 30 years ago. I do remember that in 83 it was one of the cheapest solid gold watches you could buy! I'll post a pic soon!

·
Banned
615 Posts
I doubt you'll find much info unless you stumble upon the original owner of one. They appear to be a line of ladies quartz fashion watches put out by the company that bought the rights to the name Elgin.
The original Elgin Watch Company folded in 1968, so I'm reasonably sure there is no collector interest in them.
Actually I think the 'ORIGINAL' Elgin folded in 1956 - Thereafter I dont know
In that period they produced 56Million watches - Wow!

·
Super Moderator
16,574 Posts
Actually I think the 'ORIGINAL' Elgin folded in 1956 - Thereafter I dont know
In that period they produced 56Million watches - Wow!
I just know what I read. This is an excerpt from WIKIPEDIA