WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys

I am very new to the scene of Rolex watches and decided a while ago to buy my wife a watch for her birthday. Ive looked around a couple of forums and done some back ground reading, but its still scary putting down a deposit. Ive found a shop pretty close and it seems honest.

I have seen the below watch and just after feedback, does the condition look good and the price seem reasonable? It was originally £2,950 and they reduced it to £2,750. It has original paper work. It looks like a nice example.

I appreciate its hard to give feedback based on a photo taken from my mobile, I guess i just want reassurance the price is in the right kinda range. Ive had a look around and the prices vary so much! The watch is very nice and quite classy looking.

Thanks in advance

Attachments

·
Registered
20,788 Posts
It looks legit, assuming the dial is an ORIGINAL Rolex dial and not a remake or worse fake dial with fake diamonds. If it is, Rolex will NOT service the watch, even if everything else is real & legit until you replace the dial with a Rolex OEM dial (can be over $1K). So I'd ask the buyer for a guarantee (in writing) everything is Rolex original. if he won't I'd walk. If he does, spend the $100 to have Rolex look it over and verify. Another way to tell is if he has the original paperwork and warranty card it should say on it it's a diamond dial. Keep in mind if it doesn't it doesn't mean the dials fake as Rolex will install a diamond dial after the fact for a fee. But Rolex should have record of that service by it's serial number.

Good luck!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Scott D,

Some great advice and I will give them a call tomorrow, I've given it a couple of days and am pretty close to putting down a deposit. I've also heard some reassuring feedback about the retailer.

Cheers