WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got this for $99 plus shipping. I'm not an expert on these watches but I really like the unique movement and style of the watch. I've seen some on sale for 800-900$ so I thought this might be a decent deal if it turns out ok. Here are the pics from the seller, any red flags? Did I get ripped off like a n00b? I would have preferred it not be in gold tone but I like that it appears to have the original band.

·
Registered
5,011 Posts
The movement looks in good condition (no signs of corrosion) and I think you got a good buy for the money. Congrats and wear it in the best of health.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I always feel a little more confident about ebay purchases if I get some reassurance from someone. It looks like the face is a little discolored, is that something that can be fixed up at a watch repair shop?

·
Registered
5,011 Posts
Thanks, I always feel a little more confident about ebay purchases if I get some reassurance from someone. It looks like the face is a little discolored, is that something that can be fixed up at a watch repair shop?
Most vintage watch collectors keep the watch as much as possible to the original parts. Unless the crystal is cracked or badly scratched, I suggest keeping the watch as it is. Your dial looks fine with the age, it does put character to it.

Cheers!

·
Registered
1,101 Posts
Most vintage watch collectors keep the watch as much as possible to the original parts. Unless the crystal is cracked or badly scratched, I suggest keeping the watch as it is. Your dial looks fine with the age, it does put character to it.

Cheers!
I agree it looks good the way it is, but should you want to, a dial can be redone, but I would only do it if it was really in bad shape, which yours is not...

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
It came!