WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, this is my first time posting on these forums, but I've been lurking for a while. I just started getting into watches a few months ago and since then I've purchased a Tissot, Skagen and a Torgeon, all between the 250-500 range.

I'm interested in a military watch with an olive green band and I thought I found one that I liked on ebay.

After doing some research, I'm pretty sure the case is original but the dial on the watch face is fake, I've never seen a stamped hamilton two diamond logo on the cover before.

Now I'm just a 28 year old watch novice so what do I know. I did some searching and found bits of information here and there, but I was wondering if anyone of the experts here can lend a hand.

Thanks in advance and I'm looking forward to hanging around here alot more.

Vietnam war era military wrist watch Hamilton . | eBay

P.S.- If you guys know of any other watches that fit this style, please recommend them! My price range is between 250-500 dollars, thanks :)

-Stergios

·
Registered
1,017 Posts
There's a lot of odd things about that watch that are concerning...

1. It comes from Vietnam
2. The engraving of the back with Hamilton and Ord Dept
3. The engravings of the back without govt contract info or the mil spec info.
4. Most of these era military watches were one piece cases, not two piece, although some versions were screw back cases.
5. The Hamilton logo on the dial is a "maybe"
6. No movement picture, given the ease of a screw off back.

I've done a little research on these types of watches but I wouldn't say I'm an expert. But any of the six things above would make me suspicious and given them all at the same time, I'd say keep looking if you want the "real deal".