WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I am a watch newbie. I saw a friend who had a tissot prc200 and fell in love with it. I ended up buying one recently on ebay for 175$. I did a lot of research, and yes the price is surprisingly low. However upon further inspection of the pictures (which weren't generic), the seller's other items and his 100% feedback (which include sales of Breitlings, tag heuers, bulovas movado citizen etc), i decided to buy the watch. Seller is offering a 7 day money back guarantee and with paypal/ebay protection, i feel pretty confident that i'll be able to get my money back if it is fake.

Anyways i received the watch, I've googled all over to see different threads on how to tell fake prc200's. The E's on the warranty card are round and 10 dots, the box's "T" and "+" emblem are slightly recessed into the box, spacing looks okay on the watch's face, hands look symmetric and properly shaped, hands and the 5 minute markers all glow, etc. However i would like to get a second opinion as this is my first real watch. The pictures in the auction are accurate to the item in my hand and if need be i can take other pictures.

eBay - New & used electronics, cars, apparel, collectibles, sporting goods & more at low prices

A couple of things that i read about with different opinions:
my watch's glass is lower than the bezel and the serial number is in the format of 3 letters - 2 letters - 5 numbers+1 letter

Thank you guys in advance for your help!

·
Registered
2,074 Posts
While I don't want to make light of your first "real" watch, $175 is pretty cheap. Unless you are willing to take the back off and look at the movement, call it "close enough" and move on with your life.

·
Banned
1,216 Posts
~tc~ said: