WATCH TALK FORUMS banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to the Invicta watch line. I wanted a nice watch with an automatic movement and did a lot of looking and reading. The one thing that became clear was that the Swiss ETA 2824-2 movement was by far the best value in any automatic movement with years of sales and lots of high end customers to verify the quality. In any grade, it seem to be a beast and any good repairman knows it and can get parts for it. Many watch companies build there reputaions on this movement. But the price of these watches were out of my buget. I like quality but also like a real value. Then I discovered the Invicta Swiss Automaics. After looking around, I bought a 99% like new first issue 9938 from a guy on e-Bay. I got it for $250.00 and was amazed at the quality. Heavy-Duty!!! I started looking for another Invicta Swiss to get for my birthday!

But, said to say, I have learned that the new Swiss Invictas now have a subjective nock-off of the ETA 2824-2. Why on Earth would the brains that brought this super-duper value of a watch sacrifice such an obvious gold mine of a nitch and risk there reputation on an unknown copy-movement for the same price as the original????

I have read about a lot of problems with this movement and have to question this move. Am I missing something, or does someone at Invicta need a wake-up call?

·
Registered
2,671 Posts
Hi CECIL, welcome to the Invicta WTF. From what I have heard Swatch now has exclusive rights to the ETA movements making it impossible to get watches with that movement in the Invicta line unless it is an older model. I may be incorrect on this comment but I am sure I heard that somewhere.

·
Registered
1,804 Posts