WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

This is my first posting to this forum. Wish I had found this place a few years ago. Anyway, I've searched the web and this forum and haven't found what I need anywhere. I'm considering doing a case change on a 214. I've never worked on watches before, but am handy with my hands and am capable of precision work. I recently found a vintage 214 at a yard sale. It's in great shape but, alas I need to replace the case. From what I've seen it doesn't appear too terribly difficult. I've managed to remove the back and can't see any way to remove the works from the rear. My jeweler wants $75 to switch it out and $s are definately an issue. I've purchased a SS case on the bay (same model same year) and was wondering if DYI wasn't for the fainthearted. Anyway I've been considering buying a crystal lift for this (I also have an Omega f300 needs a new crystal). Are there any other specialty tools I would need for this particular job? Is there anywhere on the net where I can find detailed instructions to change cases on a 214? Thanks in advance for any advice you can give me.

Thanx,
capt-zero

·
Registered
2,912 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Pics are nice!

Once the case back and rubber gasket are removed, the 214 movement should drop right out. Has on the few I've taken apart. Nothing extra that keeps the movement in place, AFAIK. If it doesn't, maybe some crud is keeping it in place. Good you have the exact same case model because there are variations on 214s such as dial, spacers, etc.

Can't help with crystal removal. Have not yet attempted that myself. Others here will chime in.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
oliverb,