WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this world, so please be gentle.

So there I was with some time to spare in London this week. Not having had a watch for about twenty years, I decided to search out Somlo Antiques in Burlington Arcade - supposedly the UK's only vintage Omega dealer authorised by Omega.

Greeted by a very nice chap; told him the sort of thing I was interested in, and he brought out such a thing of beauty. As soon as it was offered to my wrist it was instant love! At long last, an exquisite piece of engineering.

1967 Seamaster De Ville 14 carat gold. No idea I'm afraid of movement type, as I had no real knowledge of such things (until I found this forum).

Trouble is they want GBP2,500 for it. Now that I'm surfing for similar I'm suspecting that's way over the odds?

To the untrained eye it seemed to be in fantastic condition (no pictures I'm afraid). Apparently every Somlo watch is fully serviced by one of their Omega technicians, and comes with a two year guarantee.

So there you have it; being so new and so ignorant in this field, I wouldn't dare buy from eBay, so presumably my options are limited... or are they?

Thanks in advance for bearing with me.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks for the advice. In the meantime I've certainly been reading a lot (concentrating on 1960s Constellations), but am getting more confused with respect to the Omega vintage database, case reference nos., movement serial nos. etc.

Has anyone come across the website Posh Time here in the UK (run by Robin Armstrong)?

They seem to be much better priced, and have a couple of nice Constellations which I'm interested in e.g. Omega Constellation Auto Chronometer c.1966 | Secondhand and Vintage Watches - Poshtime.co.uk

Trouble is, the more I read the less trusting I get, and I'm probably not yet capable of spotting a decent Frankenwatch.

·
Banned
28,290 Posts