WATCH TALK FORUMS banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I do not recomend you do this and I am not a watch repair guy, infact I know about zero when it comes to watch repair. But the fact is my Invicta was running 20 seconds a day fast and was making me crazy. :cursing:

I check with the locals and they would not work on it because they don't sell Invicta or they wanted a lot to just adjust the thing. Being honest about things, I am an engineer and all that implies. I am also very handy with mechanical things, and math and stuff. Can not spell for crap, so sorry for that.

I did it. I took the back off and turned that little screw thing to the minus, one lines worth.

Now I'll see how much this slows this baby down and get back to you.

The o-ring looked good and seemed to grab at the end of tightening so the water lock should be okay for swimming and such. I don't deep sea dive.
Dang I hope it works out. :thumbup:

I will let you know.

·
Premium Member
2,102 Posts
You're certainly braver than I am, but I would caution that I know of no company that will guarantee water resistance after a watch has been opened by anyone but the manufacturer.

I don't actually know whether the water resistance is affected by this, but apparently that is the issue, no one is willing to bet on it.

I have read on what seems to be a reputable site (I wish I could find it now) that it is folly to get any watch wet, unless you are a professional diver and get your watch regularly serviced and certified. His rationale is that unless the watch is regularly serviced you have no idea about the condition of the seals, so taking a watch in the water is an unnecessary risk.

For myself, I try to limit my test of water resistance to rain and splashes around the sink, regardless of what it says on the watch.

http://www.chronocentric.com/watches/wresist.shtml