WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
347 Posts
I've never seen that band before, I surmise that it had a accutron clasp installed on a non accutron band. The problem with electroplate cases is that they can not be restored without incurring high costs. You didn't miss out by not getting that watch. A stainless steel one would be preferable IMHO.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Actually, the band looks like a tu-tone version of this one:

eBay - New & used electronics, cars, apparel, collectibles, sporting goods & more at low prices

Hmmm... just noticed the guy says it is not the original bracelet.

Thanks for the advice on not getting something that's electroplated -- I am completely new to watch collecting. I am in the market for a spaceview that is at least as old as me (1972). Is there a benefit to solid-gold vs. gold-filled?

OK, how common is this one:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/BULOVA-ACCU...ristwatches&hash=item256efcc635#ht_500wt_1413

My first concern with this one is the monogram -- am I right in thinking it can't be removed?

·
Registered
3,869 Posts
The experts will be along but, in the meantime, I'll put in my 2 cents worth. I have both solid gold Accutrons and gold plated ones and don't see a big benefit to one over the other if you intend to wear it except that I like the warmness of the solid ones.
I don't think that case with the gold bezel is particularly rare. I have one like it but with a Pulsometer dial in it and I think that one is way overpriced.
I would suggest that, before buying, you spend a few pleasant hours going back through this forum paying particular attention to the comments by, in no particular order, Sam2, Accutron, Oliverb, Akkatron, HP2114b and others I can't think of yet because I haven't had enough coffee yet.

·
Registered
1 Posts