WATCH TALK FORUMS banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I'm Rob, I did post a little under the Omega section of the old forum, I was looking at getting a SMP for my 21st. However finances have taken a rare turn for the better and...

Yesterday I took the plunge and put a deposit on my first Rolex. The last fortnight has been a rollercoaster while I studied the catalogue, spent all my lunch breaks at my AD, and scoured this forum and John's website trying to make a decision between the Sub, Sub LV, Sea-Dweller and GMT Master II.

This is where the thankyou comes in! Without me even posting, you guys have answered every question I've had, and a lot I'd never even have thought of! The wealth of knowledge you guys have here is phenomenal. Also thankyou to John for his excellent website, with in-depth reviews of all my contenders!

So, your probably wondering which I went for! Not an easy choice, but I was lucky enough to be able to see them all side by side and try them all at my AD. Admittedly the LV was the managers own and the GMT was sold but awaiting collection but it was still a nice position to be in.

In the end, after much indecision and confusion there was clarity: my first rolex will be a SS GMT II! That beautiful ceramic bezel won me over, along with the maxi dial and oysterlock clasp. Now I just have to try and contain myself until January!!

In the meantime I'm hoping to stave off impatience by continuing to enjoy this forum. Theres also an Invicta 9937ri (again thanks to john and his website for introducing me to the world of Invicta) winging its way to me atm, for those occassions when I don't want £3k on my wrist!! Hopefully that should keep me occupied until d-day... or is that r-day! Also I can hopefully practice my (currently rather woeful) photography skills on the 9937 so that when i get my Master II i can show you guys some decent pics of it!!

Rob

·
Banned
9,135 Posts