WATCH TALK FORUMS banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My husband has always wanted the Hamilton Ventura.I'm hoping it's the Ventura with the Black face, with yellow gold and a brown band..I've been doing my research and am getting a little overwhelmed because I'm getting confused at some of the options and making sure of a watch's authenticity..Is the brown band hard to find because it's no longer produced and just black face/with black band is now?
I talked with a jeweler because I found a 50th Anniversary I really liked, but she told me it wasn't authentic because they didn't have one with a diamond on the 50 mark, and it should say electric near the 6..but thru research i think she was just thinking of the silver and black version, not the yellow and black/brown band version...Anyone have time to help me sort out options, that'd be awesome...This is my first time to this site...I can check back here or you can email me @ [email protected], or if anyone is interested in selling one they have, I'd be open to options,
Thanks

·
Premium Member
2,102 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,102 Posts
I failed to mention that we have a genuine Hamilton scholar on board, who is especially well-versed in the evolution of Venturas.

If he happens by, you'll really be in luck.

He goes by the handle "HamiltonElectric" and yes, he is published.

·
Banned
5,824 Posts
Hi again, MCross. I am in my second day of wearing/owning a Ventura 50th Anniversary watch. I am loving it.

There are still Anniversary Venturas available but there are some not so subtle differences. The stainless steel/black dial version is the model with ELECTRIC just above the 6'oclock position and from information on a very long thread here lasting several days, this one very closely resembles the original electric version from 1957 but with silver sculped hour markers.