WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi newbie here, just acquired a vintage Rolex Tudor Prince Oysterdate, it has a very particular rose logo on the 12 o'çlock marker. maybe some of you good guys here can give me info on this watch...thanks in advance..

Attachments

·
Registered
266 Posts
Hello :)

I think the small rose preceded the big rose (early 60s was when it changed?), & then in the late 60s/early 70s, the Tudor logo changed to the shield.

That's a really nice looking watch :)

However....

I am not convinced by the dial... I've never seen the small rose as the 12 marker, I've only seen it printed above the "Tudor" signing on the dial.

(However the large rose Tudor Oysters had the large rose as the 12 marker).

Also the small rose on your watch looks "stucked on" like a rectangular label which looks crude & kind of not right.:confused1:

The hands don't look correct either.

I am also not convinced by the quality of the engraving at the back.

It's also very shiny & new looking for a watch that should be well over 40 years old. Unless it's been restored? :confused1:

Is there a serial number? Have you had the back opened to verify its bona fides?
As I could be totally wrong to doubt it :)

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hello :)

I think the small rose preceded the big rose (early 60s was when it changed?), & then in the late 60s/early 70s, the Tudor logo changed to the shield.

That's a really nice looking watch :)

However....

I am not convinced by the dial... I've never seen the small rose as the 12 marker, I've only seen it printed above the "Tudor" signing on the dial.

(However the large rose Tudor Oysters had the large rose as the 12 marker).

Also the small rose on your watch looks "stucked on" like a rectangular label which looks crude & kind of not right.:confused1:

The hands don't look correct either.

I am also not convinced by the quality of the engraving at the back.