WATCH TALK FORUMS banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have this Elgin that I recently purchased, and it has a 673 movement, but no serial number. Any ideas? I have found one that looks similar but it's from 1955, and has 21 jewels vs 17 jewels on this one.

·
Registered
1,640 Posts
Elgin 'Curtis'. Here it is in a 1954 Christmas ad.

The absence of a serial number places it 1954 or later, but not too much later, since the 15/0 movements were superceded by the 13/0s around 1956.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks Gene! Great find! I was thinking the same thing about the serial number, but trying to track down an ad was proving to be quite frustrating! Any sources that you would recommend when looking up ads? I'm still pretty new to the research on these things.

·
Registered
4,531 Posts
I have this Elgin that I recently purchased, and it has a 673 movement, but no serial number. Any ideas? I have found one that looks similar but it's from 1955, and has 21 jewels vs 17 jewels on this one.

Welcome to the American PsychoSoAnt!

That is a very cool Elgin you have there...

The font on the dial is just awesome.

Clean movement too.

You will find LOTS of Elgin fans here... relax, hang out and enjoy the Forum,
thanks for showing that off:thumbup1:

·
Registered
1,640 Posts
Thanks Gene! Great find! I was thinking the same thing about the serial number, but trying to track down an ad was proving to be quite frustrating! Any sources that you would recommend when looking up ads? I'm still pretty new to the research on these things.
I search books.google.com using queries like 'Elgin Watch Life', because somebody has scanned a bunch of Life magazines from the 1930s through the 1960s. There are multiple ads each year from the late 30s through about 1954, then less frequently after that.

The best ones are the Christmas ads - they usually have a dozen or so models.

·
Registered
1,640 Posts