WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,

Vintage Hamilton newbie here and loving every minute of it. I have recently procured the pictured Boulton and have a question with regards to the type of sub-second dial. You will note that the sub dial is of a rectangular design with every 10 seconds marked and is not sunk. The hand also extends backwards a little bit. I have never seen a Boulton with this style of sub second dial before (or find any on the internet) and was wondering if anybody can provide any history to this?

Was this dial a limited production version or was it always available but not as popular as the circular sunken style? Personally I love the style and think it compliments the shape of the case nicely. It also provides a contrast to my other Boulton which has the more common sub second dial. The condition of this watch is nice overall and I managed to get hold of it at a reasonable price - lovely to wear. Any help or information as to its heritage would be much appreciated,

Many Thanks,

Rich.

PS - apologies for the poor quality of the pictures, photography is not my forte!

Attachments

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
After contacting a certain Hamilton expert in California (...) it appears that this is a 'Franken-Boulton' :eek:hmy:

Looking closely at the dial one can see it doesn't fit in the bezel correctly at all. Not to worry - this might turn out to be a nice restoration project if I can get hold of an original/refurbished Boulton dial (midnight blue if I can find one!) when the service is due.

·
Super Moderator
15,654 Posts
..... - this might turn out to be a nice restoration project if I can get hold of an original/refurbished Boulton dial (midnight blue if I can find one!) when the service is due.
Sounds like it's going to turn into an awesome daily wear watch! :thumbup1:

·
Premium Member
1,643 Posts
Definitely a frankenwatch; dial is not Boulton.