WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first post. I am a novice watch collector and have a few Hamiltons. I would like to get a Spaceview to compliment my Hamilton electrics. I like the Alphas without the chapter ring. Did all the Spaceviews after 1961 have chapter rings? Can anyone give me insight into this one on ebay?

1961 Bulova Accutron 214 Spaceview Mint 14k Gold Alpha Mens Vintage Watch | eBay

Is there anything to indicate that it is NOT a factory Spaceview?

thanks
Dave Christensen

·
Registered
176 Posts
First thing that screams at me is that it is a quartz movement. I did not look any further than that. If you are looking for an authentic tuning fork accutron, stay far away from this one!!

·
Registered
2,912 Posts
First thing that screams at me is that it is a quartz movement. I did not look any further than that. If you are looking for an authentic tuning fork accutron, stay far away from this one!!
Perhaps the page didn't load properly for you but the watch he linked to is definitely a tuning fork Accutron.

To the O.P., welcome to the forum!

·
Registered
3,865 Posts
Welcome to the forum. All I can tell you about that watch is that is does appear to be pretty much what it is purported to be. One can't tell if it is an original Spaceview or a conversion but I'm 95% sure that the crystal is not original. That's not unusual.
It is certainly an early 214 tuning fork movement. In my opinion that is a watch that most Accutron collectors would be proud to own. I know I would.

·
Registered
232 Posts
The seller is the the eBay presence of Old Northeast Jewelers with stores in St. Petersburg and Tampa, Florida. They are well established and very reputable. They also happen to be the North American distributors for Ball Watch.

·
Registered
546 Posts