WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
806 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am a novice watch and clock collector and I love my invictas of which I have 3( sea hunter sw200, SAN3 sw200, quinotaur eta6498 ). I am one of the lucky ones that have never had to go thru Invictas warranty center nor had any issues because I don't wear them much but more handle from time to time. I have 9 other mechanical watches in the 3 to 8 hundred range but the Invicta watches are just as awesome to look and feel. Other than their customer service, I don't get it! Are fit & finish really inferior to 2k watches that use similar movements? I always hear with Invictas, to not spend more than $200. But the 3 watches I have combined spent $1500. I feel is worth the price.

·
Super Moderator
16,567 Posts
Well, for the most part, yes they are inferior...in the places the customer can't see. When you're not shelling out the big bucks for premium swiss movements, you're getting the basic clone of said movement manufactured in a cheap labor country in SE Asia. The Swiss ETA movements, on the other hand, come in several quality grades: Standard, Elabore, Top, and Chronometre. They are adjusted for accuracy in 5 to 7 positions, isocronism is tweaked, the tolerances are finer (which also helps accuracy), some movement parts may be removed and hand-polished, and you'll find hand-decorating which is not done with those Asian counterparts.