WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
hi all i'm new to this forum. i have been planning to get a watch and being a student, i have quite a tight budget, ard S$200.

i've been looking through ebay for some nice watches and seiko watches appeal to me quite a lot. however, the prices on ebay are so much cheaper than those watch shops that i have gone to. this watch : "Sorry not a sponsor admin". from ebay would only cost me S$160 odd while a retail shop was selling it at a S$265! Although the retailer from ebay has loads of positive feedback i'm wondering if there's anything i am missing? like top-of-the-end counterfeits or scams or anything like that?

would anyone who have bought from ebay stores enlighten me as to whether it is safe and whether these watches are genuine? i don't want to a bad experience getting my first "real" watch. Thanks in advance all! :001_smile:

P.S. Anyone with good suggestions with watches that are within my budget pls kindly share it with me! (because my knowledge of watches is VERY limited) The watch i plan to get should not be too "loud" and should go well with jeans and polo tees. :001_smile:

·
Registered
571 Posts
Although the auction looks ok, I dont think we are permitted to post links to ebay auctions (i may be wrong here). Check out our sponsors, I think some may sell seiko!
Fred

·
Banned
927 Posts
That is a well known and trusted vendor on ebay and has been for quite some time. The only issue you might have is warranty service down the road, as most of his offerings are Japanese market watches, but then again, it's a Seiko.

I bought from him about 2 years ago with no problems.

·
Registered
3,556 Posts
A friend of mine bought a Perigaum on eBay. I'd never heard of the brand. It's a German automatic (probably a Japanese movement). I was skeptical but, I gotta' tell you, for two hundred bucks, that's one substantial watch.