WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New poster!

Just finished repairing my 12th accutron this week ( I usually wait until I have a group of them to do) and it took me over a day to get one it to stop "double indexing". I phased it at 1.3 volts and it still continued to double index. I changed both coils, fork, and index wheel and still had the same problem. I then changed one of the fork spacers, and it now works like a watch! I phased the watch to 1.6 volts and it runs perfect! I have been repairing accutrons for many years and this is the first one that I have come across like this. I called the customer, and he told me he sent it out to an "Ebay" watchmaker, and it ran fast when he got it back. :T

·
Registered
2,912 Posts
Welcome to the forum and thanks for the interesting post! Most of us here run our Accutrons with the 1.5v silver oxide batteries with out issues. I tried a few Accucell-1 batteries. One thing is that they won't run as long because of the smaller battery. Some folks have trouble getting the watch to run at all on them. I won't use them again.

·
Registered
254 Posts
SAME here. 1 of 20 of mine needs Accucell, which I don't have because it died.

I find if curious that replacing the tuning fork spacers stopped the double indexing. The magnetic field should not be affected that much by the spacers. I thought they were just for clearance issues with the tuning fork possible rubbing. Maybe raising or lowering the index fingers that slight amount caused it to not slip or jump, but that adjustment can be made without removing the tuning fork. Sounds like it took over a day :)

I'll have to do some investigating... I have never considered this, touche

·
Registered
254 Posts