WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A good friend of mine has a Datejust he inherited from his father. It's a 1984/86 model, TT. He wants to sell it to me for $1200. If I get it I will have to send it in for service and this will more then likely run me another $600-800. I've seen the watch and it seems to be in good condition. He wears it all the time and says it runs fine. He's looking or the box and papers, but he's not sure if he has them. I'm new to the Rolex obsession having just bought a GMT ll 16710 LN, so I am seriously thinking about adding this to my new collection. Is this a good deal?

·
Registered
20,795 Posts
I think it's a fair deal, assuming there's nothing seriously wrong with it when it gets to service. You are getting a few intangibles over something just "off the street", such as knowing the watches history and dealing with a seller you know and that's something that's got value, at least to me.

I'm not the vintage expert, but I think $1800-2000 is a fair price on a verified Datejust that's just been serviced by Rolex. You'll also have a Rolex warranty on it. However, if you don't really care if Rolex services it, you can get it serviced by a Rolex-authorized service center for a lot less, saving you money and be running just as well. Me personally, I'd go that route, you'd probably have a total of $1500-1600 in it.

You can also come to an agreement with your friend to get an estimate first before you buy it, and that way you can discuss the actual cost and decide what each would pay. Put it all in writing to avoid confusion once the estimate is in. And if you both decide not to go forward, you can split the estimate cost (maybe $50). Better to lose a little money on the estimate than pay more than expected or lose a friend over it.