WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. Newbie here with a typical newbie question. Could someone tell me what I need to look for, and what I should be paying, for a vintage Longines Power Reserve watch please? For the first time in my life I have got a few quid to spend, courtesy of my mum, on a decent watch and have come to the conclusion that this is the one I need. There is one for sale on ebay at the moment here:

eBay - The UK's Online Marketplace

Is this a good example? With so few around its hard to find something to compare it against.

I don't need to tell you that I know nothing about vintage watches. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Peter

I tried to post the same question earlier today but the post doesn't seem to have appeared. Apologies if its gone somewhere it shouldn't have!

·
Banned
28,405 Posts
Hi Peter. $1400 is way too much for a refinished dial. This is what it should look like:

That would be a good price if it were the original finish on the dial. Maybe David (member Jacquot) will see this and share his. He got a good deal on a nearly identical correct watch just like the one you like.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply ulackfocus. But I am now a little confused! Would I be right in thinking that your picture shows the gold plated version? Would the dial on this be different to the one on ebay? The reason I ask is that a guy from Germany has already asked if the dial is original and been told it is. Confused of Timperley.

·
Banned
28,405 Posts