WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a Combat B9 with carbon face and the double AR which is blue hued. There are fine scratches in the coating so I am considering stripping the coating off.

Keen to hear if anyone has done this with a carbon faced Combat or any other carbon LT and if you were happy with the result. Pics even better! :001_tongue:

IMHO the blue just seems to take some of the character away from the carbon look.

·
Registered
130 Posts
I haven't done it yet but I'm going to remove it from my M20. I like it on my M26 but it doesn't go with the M20's CF dial.

·
Registered
297 Posts
I haven't done it yet but I'm going to remove it from my M20. I like it on my M26 but it doesn't go with the M20's CF dial.
Please post some before and after pics. I have an M24. So far, I think I'm OK with the external AR, but you never know...

·
Registered
750 Posts
I may want to do an M24; exactly what is best way or how did you do it? Nice job btw!
The following is what Chris suggested I try when I asked him about removing the top layer AR coating on my M25's sapphire crystal. I've yet to buy/borrow a dremel and work up the courage to give this a go myself, even though I know of all the watches in Lum-Tec's collection the tungsten carbide models would be the easiest (less risky) to try this on.

"I suggest get a dremel, felt tip, and green rouge bar, or some mothers aluminum polish and try it yourself first as its very simple but time consuming an messy."

·
Premium Member
2,735 Posts
I used M.A.A.S. Metal Polish to take the AR of my tungsten M38 custom. Black n' Decker Wizard set on low did the trick. Took about 5 minutes.

·
Registered
350 Posts
"I suggest get a dremel, felt tip, and green rouge bar, or some mothers aluminum polish and try it yourself first as its very simple but time consuming an messy."