WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I'm new to watches but I have an interest in Hamilton watches............ just a quick question. I found a Hamilton "Myron" with a black dial .....were there any black dial "Myron's" produced ? Any help would be appreciated.
Andy.

·
Super Moderator
16,708 Posts
I checked the Hamilton salesman's catalogs and found the Myron appeared right when regular watch production started up after World War 2 (1946) and was produced continuously until the start of the 1952 sales catalogs. All during that time, no black dialed Myrons were ever offered.
I'm wondering if what you found is a modern re-issue. I know the Piping Rock was re-issued, and I have a re-issued Ventura. If it isn't a re-issue, it must either have a repainted dial or be a counterfeit.
Again: Hamilton never sold an original production Myron with a black dial.

• Helpful
Reactions: BunkerBoy

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I checked the Hamilton salesman's catalogs and found the Myron appeared right when regular watch production started up after World War 2 (1946) and was produced continuously until the start of the 1952 sales catalogs. All during that time, no black dialed Myrons were ever offered.
I'm wondering if what you found is a modern re-issue. I know the Piping Rock was re-issued, and I have a re-issued Ventura. If it isn't a re-issue, it must either have a repainted dial or be a counterfeit.
Thanks Bill. Its original but like you said its had the dial painted black
Thanks Bill.....The watch is genuine Myron serial number on the movement puts it at 1949. As you said its had the dial painted black , maybe it was in real bad state..........Its on a non English site so maybe lost that info in translation..Heres a pic........looks quite striking.
Andy

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
16,708 Posts