WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a long time sideline observer of this site and the forums but now's the time for some advice. I'm in the market for a chronograph and have narrowed a few choices down but would love to hear from anyone that might have a certain model or models and get your opinion. I have a Omega PO so naturally have started looking at the similar chrono which I like. I also like the IWC models but would like to hear from some people that have one or both models. I really don't want to spend more than $7,500 as I might have to give up another toy in my collection.

I have a '67 Omega Speedmaster but am looking for an automatic this go around.

Thanks in advance!

·
Banned
28,291 Posts
The most obvious choice would be the Zenith El Primero. It's a fantastic caliber and several models will be at or less than $7500 in stainless steel.

Don't discount the Valjoux 7750 though. Some very nice watches have this as their base caliber, including IWC. Post a few of your choices with pictures and we'll give more opinions.

·
Registered
260 Posts
I rather like both my IWC and my Seiko Spring Drive chronos (see my sig); both can be had new for less than $7500. YMMV

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
Scratched the Omega so now it's down to the IWC models vs. the Zenith El Primero. As far as weight and feel is there much difference between the two? My daily wears are Rolex Sub and Omega PO so I tend to like a heavier/larger type of watch.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·