WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,360 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Local airport hosted a gather of WWII planes, the B25s in recognition of the 70th anniversary of the "Doolittle Raid"
. Too bad that Saturday was a rainy day
. It was still cool to see all these B25s

·
Registered
1,360 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 · (Edited)
I've made parts for both the 30cal & 50cal machine guns - in the past. I'm a toolmaker by trade, get to make lots of interesting parts for a living....... I've also been involved in building molds for the "brain cable" for the US Navy's "Smart Mine". Also have made bell helicopter parts, Sparrow Missle launch mechanisms, brake system parts for NASAs space shuttle. . Plus many various automotive progressive dies. . Currently I'm making tooling for beer cans - it doesn't sound as interesting, but high speed can presses are very intricate, very close tolerance parts. Also make orthopedic implants, such as knee replacement parts, hip, shoulder, ankle, spinal implant, fracture plate in addition to lots of the stainless steel instruments that surgeons use to install the implants. . I like my job.

·
Registered
1,360 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Here is a tab strip. I grind all the tiny punches that stamp out the tab, takes many tiny punches to nibble out the shape with tiny punch shapes, typically 7 progressive strikes completes the the shape of the tab, with all the folds or as we call it "curl" . All while the press is running at 750 strokes per minute. . .

·
Registered
3,869 Posts
Very much enjoyed seeing the B25's.
I hope that someday a person with a talent like yours decides to make some new index gears for Bulova Accutrons.

·
Registered
637 Posts