WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am a recent happy owner of a Longines Flagship Heritage (see picture).
Please note I am a newbie when it comes to automatic watches.
Here is my issue : some days, I plan not to wear the watch that's why I wind it the evening before. However I notice it stopped working during the night. I think I however winded it quite much - even though I'm not sure I reached the limit (was afraid I would break something). Do you think there is an issue or should I proceed differently ?
(I didn't have any issue when wearing it everyday - power just kept on)
Thanks !

·
Administrator
7,150 Posts
My understanding of the Longines auto movement is that it is only wound to get the movement action started and continuous winding has little or no effect. Time to consider buying yourself an auto winder which will keep it wound and running for you.

btw.... nice watch (y)

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes, however I wounded it like 15-20 rounds manually in the evening and it stopped working around 8 hours after. Shouldn't it be like this in my understanding right ?

·
Administrator
7,150 Posts
No. As i said in my earlier post, the winding mechanism is only used to get the movement started. Winding it "15 - 20 rounds" will not do anything more because it does not wind like a manual movement would. The movement requires constant motion to keep running beyond a few short hours so that's why i suggested buying yourself a watch winder. Decent ones can be had for around $100 USD

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So maybe winding it 30-40 times on a given morning when I'll not wear the watch during day, just to keep it going until next day and so on ?
I don't consider buying a watch winder.

·
Super Moderator
5,432 Posts