WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Well--the coils I worked on have now been good and in intermittent operation now for about 6-7 years.
--That was when I first got interested in this amazing design of watch. I had always been interested in watches/repairing etc--even when I was in school....

So--back 7 years ago, I bought around 5 of 218, two 219 and two 214, over the space of a year or so.

A few of the 218 had O/C Coils, --water damage I suspect--the electronics were good.

The 219's had good coils, but the electronics were duff....Weird as one had never been worn, still had the tag on the back...

Amazingly, the 214's had good coils...

So drawing on my knowledge as an electronics engineer, I set about trying to renovate what I had, seeing that I dont have the spare cash to --as my partner would say--Waste!

The 219 watches first-

One of these were in great physical shape Inside, although the GF case is pretty badly damaged on one lug--Both of my 219 are 'signatured' presentation watches with GF cases,--so nothing 'special' (Cant do 'special'--Too expensive!)

As I said, the coil itself had continuity and approx the expected DC Resistances.--But absolutely refused to Hum or run in any way.
--I first suspected the Transistor, but a quick check indicated the transistor was just fine.--That left two other components or a break in the connections somewhere...
I checked the Resistor, a 2.2meg carbon-compo 0.125W part and that read within tolerance.
The capacitor did not have any electrical leakage and did not appear open-circuit either....

No breaks in connections or wiring could be found anywhere.

I decided to replace the cap anyway, with a modern 'Surface-Mount' 0208 size, 0.22uF 30V part
--The original is a 0.2uF of unspecified voltage rating, a tiny steel cylindrical thing.

Bingo--Up it came and has run since....