WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2,729 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

This is my first time dealing with '1st March' with my 5146 and have a couple questions - some are theoretical so I hope you'd humor me :laugh:

Supposing the watch shows 28th Feb today, if it is left 'uncorrected' would it display 29 tomorrow, 30th and 31st thereafter? The reason I ask is that I like to always set the time/date of the watch to the previous day and using the hour/min hands, move across midnight into the 'day' I'm setting the time for.

Therefore, I have two options for setting my 5146:

1) as per the manual, simply adjust the time to a safe spot (6am for example, outside the 8pm-2am and 9am-11am date/moonphase activation zones), then simply push the date to the 1st, which should cause the month wheel to switch over to March as well. Updating the rest is straightforward.

2) First set to 6am (or stay in a safe spot), then set the date to 31st February (month setting is left untouched). Now, pop the crown out and move the hour hand through midnight rolling over to the 1st. The rest is set accordingly again, that's day of the week, moonphase etc.

Has anyone here tried taking the second approach? I wonder if #2 is worth it to ensure the date-flip occurs at midnight as in a non-complication movement - then again, the date rolls over gradually on my PP, thoughts?

Thanks!

Cheers M.

·
Registered
2,395 Posts
You could simply move the time through the next 3 days....I think you will find that February has 31 days on your annual calendar.

Reactions: WatchFan1 and GETS

·
Registered
2,729 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You could simply move the time through the next 3 days....I think you will find that February has 31 days on your annual calendar.
Hi Donut- thanks! I just realised, as I decided to set mine using the first method. Since the time is 'synced', I'm guessing the date change should occur at midnight.