WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi.

I've been working on figuring out how to fix Accutrons for a few months and it's, well... it's a lot harder than I expected. Thus far, I've successfully fixed a few Accutron 218 movements, destroyed a few, and used few others for parts. The fixes seem to be most commonly in the following categories:

1) fixing sticky calander mechanisms (still challenging for me)
2) fixing sticky minute pinion (challenging because of the calender re-assembly)
3) fixing indexing mechanism (double-indexing: easy, anything else: challenging to impossible)
4) fixing problem with the setting level due to over loosening of the setting lever screw
5) replacing coils.

Each time I find it nerve wracking and go through a prolonged period where I'm absolutely certain that not only am I not going to be able to get it back together properly again but that it is humanly impossible to do so. Each time, I run into the same problems with the calander and have to disassemble and reassemble it 10-20 times to get it right. Even when I am successful, I still find it nerve wracking and there's often some little thing that I've damaged like loosening the phosphor on the hands or finding that the calander doesn't seem to advance quite as crisply as before or I've lost a screw and needed to replace it from my dead Accutron parts stash.

The first time, it took me maybe 30 hours over 2 weeks to get a 2182 back together and working (entirely disassembled except for the main gear train). Now, if I need to disassemble and fix a calander or sticky minute pinion, then I can do it in maybe 4 to 8 hours with a little sweating and swearing.

So, I guess I'm wondering: What is the learning curve? Does this get easier (and quicker)?

-abe.

·
Registered
128 Posts
Hi.