WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought an Accutron 2182 for a song. It had an old Union Carbide 343 battery that fortunately did not leak. I replaced it with a new 1.55v silver battery that I had on hand. The 218 started right up but it runs very fast on the order of an HOUR per day. I wouldn't think that the increase in peak voltage would make a difference since some people recommend a 344 battery and the watch has to regulate the voltage anyway. I think that the regulation only allows for slight adjustments to the 218, certainly not an hour a day. I am brand new to Accutron watches. Any thoughts?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What does "checked out and serviced" mean? I am new to Accutron but have a decent amount of experience with mechanical watches. Could mechanical interference be limiting the amplitude of the tuning fork similar to the regulation of a hairspring to speed up the timing by shortening the springs effective length? I am tempted to try a few things on my own. Of course I was looking for a simple reason for the very fast rate.

·
Registered
2,893 Posts
Could be double indexing. That would make it run quite fast. Not unusual in a watch that hasn’t been serviced, maybe since new, and now needs service as Chris said.

·
Registered
390 Posts
It means taking it apart, looking for wear or damage, replacing any needed parts, ultrasonic cleaning (using correct techniques so nothing gets damaged), then reassembly with appropriate lubes, and finally setup of the indexing mechanism, regulation, and testing. Usually a new case back gasket and crystal are needed too.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·