WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4,127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I was looking on eBay (I'm an eBay newbie) at watches the other day, when I came across a couple of auctions for an Accutron Gemini 64C100 with the 7750 Valjoux movement. Like a cat enthralled by a laser dot on the wall, as soon as I saw Valjoux, I was transfixed on the watch.:w00t::001_wub: Several of the auctions had outrageous prices, but one, which was ending in an hour was relatively cheap--around a $150 cheaper than Amazon.

Oh, what the heck I thought, at that price, I'll put a few bids in. Every time I would put a bid in, as soon as I hit the bid button, I would see a pop up screen saying "You've been outbid.":cursing: After a couple of bids, I figured it was an automated bid bot. I was annoyed. How dare they cheat like that!!!!

"I'll fix them, said my brilliant self, I'll bid them up for just cause." Just when I was going to quit, I guess I passed their bid cap.:cool1: Darn, darn, darn (darn language filters : ). It turned out I outsmarted myself and won the auction. Stupid, stupid, stupid.:cursing:

The final price? $80 cheaper than Amazon. Not a great deal, but now it is mine.:blush:

So yours truly will shortly be the owner of a rose gold Bulova Accutron Gemini 64C100. For what it is worth, it features day and date windows, a chronograph, and a GMT dial.

Here's a screen grab from the auction. I'll post pictures when I get it.

·
Banned
28,290 Posts
Looks like a nice watch. Is the same model available from other dealers so you're sure it's authentic?

Oh, and it wasn't a bot at all - another person might have entered a bid of $400 but only needed $310 to outbid the last highest bidder. If you enter $325, you'll be told that you were outbid even though no bid was entered a split second after you. This will keep happening until you outbid the previous $400. (the numbers are just hypothetical for example)

·
Registered
4,127 Posts