WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
A timepiece for my graduation $500-$700??

Good Evening All!

I am a first generation college student and I will be graduating in April of this year with my graduate degree! I fathomed the thought of purchasing a class ring but quickly dismissed the idea as I know it won't be something I would wear much, if at all. The reason why I chose my price range of $500-$700 is because that's how much the cheapest (only price I'd be willing to pay) class ring would cost and my family members agreed they'd purchase it for me.

Instead, I will be asking for a watch. A classic timepiece that I will enjoy much more than any class ring. So I come to you guys for your wise advice and guidance lol in steering me into the the right direction on what I should suggest my familia to gift me. I would love a watch that could be engraved but it's not a necessity and also preferably new simply because if used, I'm not sure the watch will be around by the time it would be purchased in April.

I MUCH prefer something auto or handwind but might make an exception for quartz. Nothing below 42mm (will entertain all suggestions). Also, I'm looking into something thats dressy and/or casual. Your suggestions are much appreciated!

·
Super Moderator
16,890 Posts
Following your guidelines, I'd recommend a Tissot PRS-516 it's:
*Automatic
*42mm case
*$463/Amazon ($675 at a nationally-known authorized dealer/ "jewelry galleria" before any discounts are applied)
I'm afraid it has an exhibition back, so engraving is probably a no-can-do.

You might owe it to yourself to see what the brand ORIENT has to offer. They are more affordable, probably as good as Tissot, and have more choices
at and over 42mm.

Here's my 3-year old 516 for a real-life look at it. I added the strap last summer to save wear & tear on the Tissot branded leather.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·