WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,

I'm new to the forum and looking for some opinions.

I started out with a nice Breitling, then moved on to a Rolex, so I think it's time for a Patek!

The one that's caught my eye is the 5146G and I've asked my local AD to get one in for me to see it in the flesh (he's only got the P currently). Now before I sink what feels like a significant sum of money in, what's the general feeling about this piece?

Clearly a person should buy whatever takes their fancy, but it'd be nice to know whether it's well regarded, represents good value as Pateks go, and is not the most common choice. I'm new to brand so want to feel its something special, and not the Rolex Submariner (no offence to any owners out there but it seems to be almost the default choice for Rolex buyers even though its a great watch) of the Patek range!

Ideally I'm after something more contemporary, self-winding, and with an annual calendar (don't think I could stretch to a Perpetual).

Thanks

·
Registered
13 Posts
Patek 5146G is a fine watch. It is, however, quite a thick watch and thus not a most typical Patek. This watch is not rare but in my opinion it represents very good value. I have been considering a 5146 for some time for an everyday watch and if I will buy one, my version will most probably be 5146P.

Best, Kari

·
Registered
15,297 Posts
A solid choice. I owned this watch and I have a relatively thin wrist (6 1/2 - 6 3/4).
At least to me it never felt to be a thick watch by any means.

Here are more pics and info.

Best of luck, hope you will get one soon.
....and NO, there is absolutely nothing common about 5146 (or Patek for that matter).
I can go out to dinner or a bar and see 'dozens' of Rolex or Breitling watches in
one evening. Not counting GTGs, I am not sure I have seen dozen Patek watches
'out in the wild' on peoples wrist 'in my life'.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·