WATCH TALK FORUMS banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi
After collecting a small number of WW1 and WW2 watches over the years, I decided to buy a watch I'd admired since I was a kid in the 69s. On Ebay - it was also offered on MyChrono24. The blurb was very long and detailed, and the images look good - too good? (I'm a newbie on Omega). The seller seems to be knowlegable and friendly, so naturally I'm a bit nervous. Have I been sold a pup? As far as I can see, the movement is right, and the numbers check out. I'd be very grateful for your thoughts - I paid $770.
Watch Brown Analog watch Clock Watch accessory

Hand Product Watch Amber Material property

Watch Analog watch Light Clock Yellow
Watch Analog watch Body jewelry Automotive lighting Clock

·
Super Moderator
16,452 Posts
Giving it my 100% seal of approval without being able to hold the watch and personally inspect it is not possible, but I can see NOTHING that would send my Spidey Sense tingling. And since eBay is rife with Stainless Steel Geneves but very few with similar gold cases, I can't say too much about the price you paid.
Not asking for educated opinions until AFTER you've sent off your hard-earned pounds is usually not the wisest thing to do, but In your case, I'd say you lucked out!
Enjoy your Omega in good health and with a clear conscience.(y)(y)(y)
A word of advice: if the seller cannot guarantee that the watch was been servived within the last 5 years, you might consider taking it to your local watchmaker for a preventative maintenance health check (otherwise known as "servicing" the watch) and have this done on a regular basis. The lubricating oils inside your watch WILL dry out before too many years go by. On average, we have our mechanical watches cleaned and re-oiled every 5-to-10 years. Many watch owners will tell you "I've NEVER sent my watch in for cleaning, and it works just fine!"