New arrival, Seiko 6309-7040

WINNER OF THE JAPANESE & ASIAN PHOTO COMPETITION

Thread: New arrival, Seiko 6309-7040

My Watchbox

Default New arrival, Seiko 6309-7040

I had been looking at getting one of these vintage Seiko Divers model 6309-7040 for a couple of months. The reason is that I believed it to fit my wrist better then the regular SKX divers. Also I had a mod in mind and I wanted something that was vintage looking. So when I found one on bracelet (I don't like rubber straps) that looked like a good deal I snatched it.

I have to say that I am no expert on vintage Seiko divers, I did read a bit about the 6309 model, saw a few photos and I learned a few things in reading posts on the forums. However I don't think that I could recognize an original part from an aftermaket one. But in truth, does this matter much? Not really, at least to me:

I was expecting great things from this watch but when it arrived it blew away all my expectations. Here was a great watch some 25 year old in great shape looking more like being a few months old and little used certainly loved and in much better shape that I would ever have imagined.