Recommendations for 40+ mm hand wound watch under 1000 USD [Archive] - WATCH TALK FORUMS

: Recommendations for 40+ mm hand wound watch under 1000 USD

wolfie
09-04-2019, 01:36 PM
I'm hoping anyone of you awesome guys can give me tips about my new purchase. I'm a beginner watch lover, and I'm currently looking for a watch that fit these requirements:

* A minimum of 40mm because 38 and less just looks to small on me.
* Hand wound watch, because I want that connection with the clock in the morning.
* Less than 1000 USD

I really like Junkers 6032-5 because of it's Bauhaus design but don't like the gold/bronze in them. Their regular watches are amazing though. Would've gone with Max Bill if it was bigger. I'm not to much into Diving watches, more gentlemans watches but a bit bigger.

Anyone got any cool suggestions?

CometHunter
09-04-2019, 04:09 PM
Are you open to Asian movements, like Orient or Sea-Gull? That stipulation alone will vastly increase your odds of finding an acceptable design.

wolfie
09-04-2019, 04:15 PM
I'm very beginner, so I don't know what that entails. I'm guessing a bit lower quality... but any suggestion is fine. :)

CometHunter
09-04-2019, 05:23 PM
I'm very beginner, so I don't know what that entails....

Not a problem.
Thanks to 21st.-century manufacturing techniques, some watches coming out of the far-East are equal to the quality of some Swiss watches.
But speaking honestly, I have met a few watch snobs in the past. If a watch was not manufactured and assembled in Switzerland, they did not want to have ANYTHING to do with it.
I was merely trying to find out either how conservative or how liberal your views of watch ownership were.....and now we know, :thumbup:

LET THE HUNT BEGIN!

wolfie
09-04-2019, 05:57 PM
Lol! Already started the hunt. Sea-gull rubbed me the wrong way when I googled it. A lot of copied designs, but Orient seems cool. Gonna see if theres some gems there. 😁

mikeyt_53
09-04-2019, 09:35 PM